Customer Q&A battle of Hastings

How many units can be in an engagement square?

The engagement squares are the smaller grids within the battle zone, one square measures 5x5cm a unit displays is 1,5cm at the bottom side making it a max of 3 units per engagement square.

 

Can all units in an engagement square attack and be attacked?

Yes if you use archers to target units aligned after each other, no if you attack the units with infantry, attacking with infantry always hits the first unit in the line, same goes with the cavalry.

 

Can units from both sides occupy the same engagement square? If so can archer units fire into a square with friendly units?

Yes, if you attack an enemy unit with the infantry in the same engagement square and you are victorious, the attacked unit must leave the square in any direction in retreat. Then you can occupy the square with the unit you used to attack. Further, you can target with the archer any unit within their range, also in squares occupied by friendly units. archers have the ability to target units over other units in order to hit them.

 

Can cavalry move through friendly units?

It can, what you need to do is move units in front aside to another square in order to make room for a charge, note every unit that leaves an engagement square in order to make room to another square counts as one action point. If you need to move 2 units in front of a cavalry unit, this is at the cost of 2 action points.

 

Can cavalry end movement in an enemy occupied square?

Not sure if I really understand what you mean, but here is my answer, if the range used by the cavalry ends in an enemy occupied square then the cavalry unit stays in that square and is vulnerable to counter attacks.

 

Using the shieldwalls, which means a unit is immobile if in that formation, however going into and out of shieldwall costs nothing, so in theory you remove the token , move and then go back into shieldwall, sort of defeats the object a bit - house ruled you cannot change the formation twice using the same action point?

The shield wall is immune to any archery fire, weather volley or single shots. One should use their volleys at the right time, luring the saxon infantry into forcing to move by an outflanking maneuver and making sure your archers are in range of volley to hit . Next you can only activate or deactivate the shield wall once on the same unit per turn. Example if I decide to activate shield wall on unit A, it can not move until the next turn where I deactivate the shield wall by removing the icon and then the unit is able to move.Hope this explains it better, how to use the shieldwall.

Are action points which are used to move and melee etc. It appears you can allocate all four points to the same unit (or group ) in your turn, at least nothing says you cannot - need that breakthrough melee four times, reposition quick four moves?. Again I am ruling one action point per turn per unit/group’

you can use all 4 of the action points on the same unit, whether you move 4 times with the same unit/group, whether you attack 4 times with the same unit, that choice is your to take, So if you want to break through a line with a unit, you could use that unit 4 times in a row to attack, that does not apply for the cavalry, the cavalry has one charge, while infantry and archers can attack till all action points are used. Moving units that are deployed in the same engagement grid can be done as a group at the cost of one action point, the range for group movement is one engagement grid in any direction. Here too the 4 action points could be used to move the same group of units into position on the battlefield.


Elevation. It is not clear where the elevated terrain is.  

The elevation of the terrain is marked by straight relief lines as marked on the picture included.

Can a unit (or group of units) use all the available action points  in a turn. For example, can a  unit take 4  move commands and run across the map or  take 4 consecutive combat commands and attack 4 straight times?

Units can be used collectively as a group if they are stationed within the same engagement grid. By using one action point, commanders have the ability to move large groups of units across the battlefield. Each turn allows for a maximum of 4 units or group formations to be moved, whether the same unit or group is moved 4 times or spread over several units of groups This strategy allows for flexibility and efficient movement of troops. Groups can move within a range of one engagement grid in any direction and can even include cavalry, archers, or artillery. So yes, units can use up to 4 action points as a single unit or group to move across the battlefield, and individual units like:

  • archers can fire 4 times with the same unit
  • infantry can charge 4 times with the same unit
  • artillery can fire 4 times with the same unit
  • cavalry can >>not<< charge 4 times in a row only once per turn.

 

Can the General Commands be used more than once each turn?  For example could one side use 4 mass infantry charges consecutively in one turn?

 

No, each turn 1 general command per side max, so one mass infantry charge or one archers volley per , one mass cavalry charge per turn

 

Can a unit take part in, for example, a mass infantry charge and also be used to fire as a single unit?

 

Only infantry units can participate in mass infantry charges, archers runned out of arrows are not properly trained infantry thus not having the ability to join in mass infantry charges.

 

In the general commands...Mass Cavalry Charge, Mass Infantry Charge, Archer's Volley, do the defenders roll battle dice?  I know the attackers don't since they get automatic hits. Of course the defenders  of an Archer's Volley would have to be next to the archers.

Whenever a general command is unleashed, the defender has to face the onslaught and take the damage. When general commands like:

 

  • archers volley
  • mass infantry charge
  • mass cavalry charge

are unleashed, the attacker does not have to throw the dice, the defender has to pray it survives the attacks and is able to counter attack in the next turn.

 

Can units in shieldwall formation participate  in a Mass Infantry Charge? if enemy  Since the English can do a charge as far as 3 squares if doing downhill, I would think  Shield Wall units couldn't participate  since they can't move.  However, can they do it  if in the same square or adjacent to the enemy  units? They can engage such units in normal combat so perhaps the Mass Charge is allowed on this case.  The term "Mass Infantry Charge"  does imply moving .

 

Units in shieldwall formation can not move and are not able to participate in a mass charge. They can only attack units that are present in the same engagement square. So if the situation occurs that a unit in shieldwall formation is attacked by an enemy unit within the same square, in the next round the shieldwall formation can take the initiative and attack the enemy unit within the same square. Another tactic would be deploying your shieldwall formation with enough space that an unaware enemy unit can enter its square in order to be able to counter attack without leaving the square and unlocking the shield formation. Deploying them at the front line of of the square removes the ability to counter attack as they can not exit the square. 

 

 

Add comment

Comments

Jeff
7 months ago

Like the other player who asked, we were also playing one action point per unit. Nice to have that clarification